Home Athletics SOYA awards 2015: Yego, Kiyeng come out tops…as Gor beats the national...

SOYA awards 2015: Yego, Kiyeng come out tops…as Gor beats the national team!

Stage set for Soya Awards 2015 | Photo: Kenyan Photographer (@SNderitu)

He did it again, The Youtube Man has bagged the 2015 sportsman of the year award. Julis Yego beat stiff competition from football star Michael Olunga , track champions Asbel kiprop and Geoffrey Kamworor and hockey sensation Linus Sang to clinch the men’s award. It was a close call, given each individual’s exploits in their particular disciplines, but Yego’s world dominating javelin throw eventually carried the day. Yego also took home the overall Sports personality of the year (Soya) award in the event graced by Cameron football legend Patrick M’Boma.

Shy lady Hyvin Kiyeng won the women’s category, winning another close race between her and volleyball’s Mercy Moim. In a colorful event held t the KICC, Kiyeng had a mixture of crowd fright and joy as she stepped up to collect her award; no such fear has she shown on the track though.

After winning the Sportpesa premier league unbeaten and reaching the Cecafa Kagame cup finals, Gor were by far the favorites to pick up the team of the year award. This despite Harambee Stars improved exploits, and also the national hockey and rugby 15s’ performances.

One Ezekiel Kemboi has reused to grow old, collecting the evergreen sportsman award. And for his exploits with the national women’s volleyball, David Lung’aho is befittingly the coach of the year.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Team of the Year-

Men: 1. Gor Mahia [Football] 2. National Hockey team [Hockey] 3. Kenya Simba 15s [Rugby]

Women: 1.Malkia Strikers [Volleyball] 2. Malkia Strikers- All Africa Games Team [Volleyball] 3. Telkom Orange [Hockey]

School Team of the Year

Girls: 1. Sinyolo Girls [Hockey] 2. AIC Kosirai [Volleyball] Trans Nzoia Mixed [Hockey]

Boys: 1. Laiser Hill Academy [Rugby] 2. Narok Boys [Hockey] 3. St Peters Mumias Chesirikwa [Handball]

Sportsman of the Year: 1. Julius Yego [Javelin] 2. Asbel Kiprop [Athletics] Geoffrey Kamworor [Athletics]

Sportswoman of the Year: 1. Hyvin Kiyeng [Athletics] 2. Mercy Moim [Volleyball] 3. Florence Kiplagat [Athletics]

Most Promising Sports Personality of the year

Women: 1. Agnes Jebet [Athletics] 2. Cellphine Chespol [Athletics] 3. Rebecca Kamau [Swimming]

Men: 1. Kumari Taki [Athletics] 2. Vincent Kipyegon [Athletics] 3. Jeremy Wahome [Motorsport]

Schools Most Outstanding Performance

Boys: David Parisitao [Ngoleni Secondary School ,Javelin]

Girls: Judy Nkatha [Shadrack Kimalel, Tennis]

Community Hero: Edna Rotich

Hall of Fame: Brian Hawkins [Shooting] John Mucheru [Golf] Violet Baraza [Volleyball]

Sportswoman of the Year with Disability: 1.Cecilia Wangechi [Athletics] 2. Hellen Wawira [Power lifting] 3. Susan Gatwiri [Athletics] 4. Joyline Jemutai [Athletics]

Sportsman of the Year with Disability: 1. Onesmus Mutinda [Special Olympics] 2. Alex Komen [Athletics] David Korir [Athletics]

Evergreen Sports Personality of the year: Ezekiel Kemboi [Athletics]

Coach of the Year: David Lung’aho [Volleyball]

School Coach of the Year: Kelvin Lugalia [St Anthony Boys-hockey]

Comeback of the Year: Lawrence Buyachi [Rugby]

Sports Federation of the Year: 1. The Kenya Volleyball Federation 2. Kenya Rowing and Canoeing 3. Boxing Association


Sports Personality of the Year: Julius Yego [Athletics-javelin]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here